Choose an AI visibility tool whose Search Console integration is read-only, joins Google's page data to AI answers page by page, and tracks the engines Google's own reports cannot see, such as ChatGPT, Perplexity and Claude. Since June 2026, Search Console has reported AI Overviews and AI Mode impressions itself, so a tool is only worth paying for what it adds on top: clicks and queries beside AI answers, prompts picked from your real queries, longer history and other engines.
Of the tools we checked on their own pages on 28 and 29 September 2026, 19 publish a Search Console integration of some kind and 18 do not, including Otterly.AI, Peec AI and Profound.
What does Search Console show about AI search in 2026?
Google announced the Generative AI performance report on 3 June 2026 and says it had reached every site by 31 August 2026. It shows how often links to your site appeared in AI Overviews and AI Mode, by page, country, device and date.
Its limits shape what a tool needs to add:
- Impressions only. Google's help page lists no clicks, click-through rate, position or query dimension.
- AI Overviews and AI Mode combined. The help page lists no filter that separates them.
- The usual row limit. Google says the 1,000-row limitation applies, as in the Performance report.
- Not in the API. The Search Analytics API's list of search types, last updated 11 August 2026, has no generative AI type.
AI clicks are counted, just not separately. In the main Performance report, AI Overviews and AI Mode sit inside the Web search type. Every link in an AI Overview gets the same position, and a click on one counts as a click. On 24 September 2026 Google added multimodal searches, such as Lens and image uploads, to the report.
Two data breaks matter for trends. Google says a logging error misreported impressions from 13 May 2025 to 27 April 2026, and the generative AI report lost impressions for 13 to 17 August 2026 before they were restored. The walkthrough of both reports is in how to use Google Search Console for AI search.
What can a tool pull from the Search Console API?
A connected tool reads the same data you see in the Performance report, through Google's Search Analytics API. Google's documentation, read on 29 September 2026, sets these limits:
- Up to 25,000 rows per request (the default is 1,000), paged with a start row.
- Up to 50,000 rows of data per day per search type.
- 16 months of history. Google's own advice for keeping more is to pull it through the API and store it.
- Queries used by only a few dozen people over two to three months are anonymised and left out of query tables.
- 1,200 queries a minute per site, with queries grouped by both page and query the most expensive.
So a tool can give you clicks, impressions and queries by page. It cannot, per Google's documentation, give you Google's own AI-only impressions through the API.
Step 1: Check that the connection is read-only
When you connect, Google shows a consent screen listing what the tool may do. An AI visibility tool needs to read performance data. It does not need to add users, change settings or submit sitemaps.
If the screen asks for more than viewing, ask the vendor why before you accept. Connect with an account that has access to the properties you want, and no more. You can revoke access later from your Google Account's third-party connections.
Step 2: Check that it joins Search Console and AI answers page by page
The integration earns its place when one row shows a URL's Google clicks, impressions and queries next to the AI answers that cite that URL. Without the join, you have two dashboards and a spreadsheet.
A simple test is the share of a page's visibility that comes from AI features: AI impression share = Generative AI report impressions ÷ Web impressions × 100. Say, hypothetically, your pricing page had 12,000 Web impressions last month and 3,000 in the Generative AI report. That is 3,000 ÷ 12,000 × 100 = 25%. Ask the vendor to show you where that page's ChatGPT and Perplexity citations sit in the same view.
Step 3: Check that it turns your Search Console queries into prompts
The queries people already type to reach you are the best source of prompts to track. Long, question-shaped queries are the closest match to what people ask AI engines.
A good integration suggests prompts from those queries, or at least lets you filter for them. Ask whether it can find queries that start with a question word, or run to eight words or more, and add them to tracking in one step.
Step 4: Check how much history it keeps
Search Console keeps 16 months. A tool that imports on day one and keeps storing daily gives you a longer record, which matters for year-on-year comparisons of AI-era traffic.
Ask two questions. How far back does it import on connection? Does it keep data after 16 months? Also ask whether it flags Google's logging error window, since impression comparisons across 13 May 2025 to 27 April 2026 are unreliable.
Step 5: Check which engines it tracks beyond Google
Search Console covers Google only. For Microsoft, Bing Webmaster Tools' AI Performance report has been in public preview since February 2026 (checked 23 September 2026). ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude and Grok have no equivalent, so a tool has to run the questions itself.
Several tools pair Search Console with narrow engine coverage. Writesonic lists Search Console on every plan but tracks only ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews below Enterprise, and Wellows covers five engines without Claude, Grok or Copilot (both checked 28 September 2026). Match the engine list to where your buyers ask.
Step 6: Check where its AI Overviews numbers come from
Because Google's AI-only report is not in the API, any AI Overviews citation data a tool shows comes from its own checks of Google's results, not from Search Console. That is fine, as long as the tool says so and states how often it checks.
Frequency matters. Ahrefs' study of over 43,000 keywords, published 11 November 2025, found AI Overview content changed 70% of the time between observations, and 45.5% of citations changed. A weekly check misses a lot of that movement. See how to track Google AI Overviews for the method.
Step 7: Check which plan includes the integration
A Search Console logo on a features page does not mean it is on the plan you are buying. LLM Pulse offers Search Console through its MCP on Growth and above (checked 29 September 2026). Gauge lists it on Growth at $599 a month, and Semrush's AI Visibility Toolkit gets it through a $10-a-month Base Report add-on (both checked 28 September 2026).
Ask for the plan name in writing, and whether the integration costs extra. How to choose an AI visibility tool covers the other criteria, from engines to contract terms.
Which tools do this?
Each row comes from the vendor's own pages on the date shown. "Not published" means we found no Search Console integration on the pages we read, not that one cannot exist. Cituna is in the table because we build it.
| Tool | Search Console integration | Entry price | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cituna | Yes, every plan | $39/mo | 29 Sep 2026 |
| Promptwatch | Yes, every brand plan | $95/mo | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Writesonic | Yes, every plan | $99/mo monthly, $79 billed annually | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Goodie AI | Yes, every plan, with Bing Webmaster Tools | $478.80/mo monthly, $399 billed annually | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Wellows | Yes, every plan | $29/mo | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Search Atlas | Yes, every plan; AI visibility from Growth | $199/mo monthly for Growth | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Conductor | Yes, all three plans | Not published | 28 Sep 2026 |
| LLM Pulse | Yes, through its MCP, Growth and above | €49/mo (Starter, weekly) | 29 Sep 2026 |
| Gauge | Yes, on Growth | $599/mo | 28 Sep 2026 |
| SE Ranking (platform) | Yes, on Core | $129/mo | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit | Through the $10/mo Base Report add-on | $99/mo per domain, billed annually | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Rankability | Yes, a native connection | $497/mo on a 12-month agreement | 29 Sep 2026 |
| Keyword.com | Yes | $9.80/mo monthly (AI Visibility) | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Rankscale | Yes, in beta; plan not stated | $20/mo | 28 Sep 2026 |
| xseek | Yes; plan not stated | $249.99/mo | 28 Sep 2026 |
| AthenaHQ | Listed; plan not stated | $295/mo | 28 Sep 2026 |
| BrightEdge | Yes, GSC Reporting | Not published | 28 Sep 2026 |
| seoClarity | In the SEO suite, not on the ArcAI table | Not published | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Nightwatch | Agency page only, not in the plan table | €79/mo billed yearly | 29 Sep 2026 |
| Otterly.AI | Not published | $29/mo | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Peec AI | Not published | $95/mo | 29 Sep 2026 |
| Profound | Not published | Agency Growth $99/mo; brands custom | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Scrunch | Not published | $250/mo | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Ahrefs Brand Radar | Not published; Ahrefs' GSC Insights is a separate tool | $199/mo | 28 Sep 2026 |
| SE Visible | Not published | $99/mo | 28 Sep 2026 |
| AIclicks | Not published | $59/mo | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Trakkr | No native connector; a guide for using GSC exports | $100/mo | 28 Sep 2026 |
Also not published on the pages we read (28 to 29 September 2026): Geoptie, Rankshift, Knowatoa, Evertune, Bluefish, Similarweb, AirOps, Analyze, Surfer and Mangools. Knowatoa's "AI Search Console" is its own feature, not Google's.
Where rivals beat Cituna: Wellows and Keyword.com cost less, Promptwatch and Conductor track engines Cituna does not, and Cituna does not track Microsoft Copilot. Cituna costs $39, $119 or $399 a month and writes the fix for each gap it finds. See how Cituna uses Search Console at cituna.com. For price and engines across more tools, see AI visibility tools compared.
Which tools did AI engines name for this question?
In our scans on 28 September 2026, we asked seven engines "which AI visibility tool includes Google Search Console". Six answered, as Google AI Overviews was unavailable for that run.
- ChatGPT: Cituna, Promptwatch, Finseo, AI Peekaboo.
- Perplexity: Semrush, SE Ranking, AthenaHQ, Searchable, Conductor, HubSpot, Promptwatch.
- Gemini: Promptwatch, OpenLens, Mentionova, Moz.
- Claude: Trakkr, Promptwatch, Finseo.
- Grok: Promptwatch.
- Google AI Mode: Conductor.
Promptwatch was named by five of the six. Over the 30 days to 29 September 2026, its guide on this topic was cited 94 times by ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude and Grok. Cituna was named only by ChatGPT.
Check the engines' lists against vendor pages. Claude named Trakkr, whose integrations page offers a guide for using Search Console exports rather than a native connection. We did not check Finseo, AI Peekaboo, OpenLens, Mentionova, Searchable or Moz.
Frequently asked questions
Does Search Console show clicks from AI Overviews?
Not separately. Clicks from AI Overviews and AI Mode are counted inside the Web search type of the Performance report. The Generative AI performance report shows impressions only.
Can a tool pull the Generative AI report through the API?
Not according to Google's documentation on 29 September 2026. The Search Analytics API's search types, last updated 11 August 2026, include no generative AI type, so tools that show AI Overviews citations collect them from their own checks.
Is it safe to connect Search Console to an AI visibility tool?
It is low risk if the tool asks only to read performance data. Check the Google consent screen before you accept, and revoke access from your Google Account if you stop using the tool.
How far back can a tool import Search Console data?
Up to 16 months, the history Search Console keeps. Anything older exists only if the tool, or you, stored it earlier through the API or the bulk export to BigQuery.
Does Search Console track ChatGPT or Perplexity?
No. Search Console covers Google Search only. For ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude and Grok you need a tool that runs the questions, or you can check answers by hand.
Which AI visibility tools include Search Console on every plan?
On their own pages, checked 28 and 29 September 2026, Cituna, Promptwatch, Writesonic, Goodie AI, Wellows and Search Atlas list it on every plan, and Conductor on all three of its plans. Otterly.AI, Peec AI, Profound and Scrunch do not publish one.