Of the ten AI visibility tools whose pricing and feature pages we recorded in September 2026, eight say they report the citations or sources in AI answers to the prompts you track, which is how you see which websites the engines cite. Which one fits depends on the engines your buyers use and what you plan to do with the list. Rankscale starts lowest, at $20 a month paid in credits. Otterly.AI reports website citations and a domain ranking from $29 a month, and Cituna records the pages seven AI engines cite every day from $39 a month, then turns those sites into an outreach plan. Peec AI and SE Visible list the cited domains and URLs from $95 and $99 a month, Scrunch and Profound suit mid-size and large brands, and AthenaHQ pairs a free tier with an 11-model plan at $295 a month.
Every price, engine list and feature below comes from the vendor's own pricing and feature pages as we recorded them on 24 September 2026 (Cituna's on 24 and 27 September). We did not run the tools ourselves, and where a vendor's page does not say something, we write "not stated" or "not published". If you have not settled what to track yet, our seven criteria for choosing an AI visibility tool give you a checklist to run before you compare plans.
How we chose the 8 tools
How this list works: a tool makes this list if its vendor's own pages say it reports the citations or sources behind AI answers to the prompts you track, not only how often a brand you name is mentioned or cited. That is the minimum bar. For the terms, see what counts as a citation in an AI answer. For each tool that passes, we note what the citation report covers, which engines the tool reads and what its cheapest plan costs, from the vendor's own pricing and feature pages as read on 24 September 2026 (Cituna's on 24 and 27 September). Entries are ordered by the monthly price of the cheapest paid self-serve plan, billed monthly, from low to high. Free tiers and trials are noted but do not set the order, and a tool sold to brands only by quote comes last.
Two of the ten tools we recorded did not pass. Ahrefs Brand Radar's pages describe looking up any brand's mentions and citations, with metrics for mentions, citations and AI share of voice, and the Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit's pages describe the prompts and topics where rivals are cited and you are not. Both describe citations of a brand, yours or a rival's. We could not confirm from those pages that either one lists the other sites the engines cite, so neither is ranked here.
The 8 tools compared
| Tool | Best for | What it reports on citations | Engines read | Cheapest paid plan | Free trial or tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rankscale | Choosing engines and frequency per prompt | Citation, sentiment and competitor analysis | More than 17, each check paid in credits | $20/mo (Essentials, 120 credits) | 7 days, Pro plan only |
| Otterly.AI | A handful of prompts on a small team | Website citations, domain ranking, link citation analysis | 4; Google AI Mode, Gemini and Claude as add-ons | $29/mo (Lite, 15 search prompts) | Offered, length not stated |
| Cituna | Turning cited sites into an outreach plan | The pages each engine cites, plus an outreach plan for the cited sites | 7; no Microsoft Copilot | $39/mo (Starter, 10 buyer prompts) | 3 days, card required |
| Peec AI | Answers that name rivals but not you | Cited domains and URLs, classified by type | 3 models you choose; up to 13 on Enterprise | $95/mo (Starter, 50 prompts) | Offered, length not stated |
| SE Visible | A large prompt set on five engines | The domains and URLs cited most, by category | 5; Claude listed as coming soon | $99/mo (Basic, 200 prompts) | 10 days |
| Scrunch | Mid-size and enterprise brand teams | Citations and sources for each prompt | 4 on Core; 9 on Enterprise | $250/mo (Core, 125 unique prompts) | 7 days of Core |
| AthenaHQ | Trying it free before paying | Source and competitor insights | 11 on Starter; 5 on the free tier | $295/mo (Starter, 3,600 credits) | Free tier with $25 of credit |
| Profound | Large brands buying through sales | Citations, and the sources cited across a category | Up to 9 on Enterprise; 3 in the trial | Custom, by quote | 7 days, 50 prompts a day from a set it recommends |
Prices are billed monthly; most vendors also show a lower annual rate, given in each entry. For Search Console and API access next to price and engines, see AI visibility tools compared.
The 8 tools, one by one
1. Rankscale (best for choosing engines and frequency per prompt)
Rankscale tracks how brands appear across more than 17 AI engines, among them ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, DeepSeek, Mistral, Copilot and Google's AI Overviews and AI Mode. Its features include citation, sentiment and competitor analysis, with query fan-out on every plan, plus page audits of any URL and an MCP server (pricing page, read 24 September 2026).
You pay in credits and set how often each prompt runs, from hourly to monthly. A check typically costs 0.25 credits per engine per prompt, while a Claude check uses 2 credits and a DeepSeek check 1. Essentials costs $20 a month, or $17 billed yearly, for 120 credits a month, 2 brand dashboards and 10 page audits; at 0.25 credits a check, that is up to 480 AI answers a month. Pro costs $99 a month, or $84 billed yearly, for 1,200 credits (up to 4,800 AI answers), and it is the plan the 7-day free trial covers.
Strength: you choose the engines and the check frequency for each prompt, and the engine list includes DeepSeek, Mistral and Grok, which many tools skip.
Limit: credits make the bill harder to predict, and Essentials has no credit rollover and only 2 brand dashboards.
Pick it if: you want to sample many engines on a small budget and are happy to manage a credit balance.
2. Otterly.AI (best for a handful of prompts on a small team)
Otterly.AI runs your search prompts daily on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot and reports brand mentions, website citations and a Brand Visibility Index, with a domain ranking and link citation analysis. Google AI Mode, Gemini and Claude are paid add-ons. It also audits your URLs for generative engine optimization and includes a prompt research tool (pricing page, read 24 September 2026).
Lite costs $29 a month, or $25 billed annually, for 15 search prompts, unlimited team members, 1 workspace and 3 recommendations a week. On Lite, Google AI Mode or Gemini costs from $9 a month and Claude from $29 a month. Standard costs $189 a month, or $160 billed annually, for 100 prompts, and adds API and MCP access and a Looker Studio connector. Premium costs $489 a month, or $422 billed annually, for 400 prompts. New users get a free trial, and the pricing page does not state its length.
Strength: website citations and a domain ranking on four engines, Microsoft Copilot among them, checked daily from $29 a month.
Limit: 15 prompts on Lite, and Google AI Mode, Gemini and Claude cost extra on every plan.
Pick it if: a small team wants a daily read of the sites cited for a short list of questions.
3. Cituna (best for turning cited sites into an outreach plan)
Cituna asks seven AI engines (ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode) the questions buyers ask about a market every day, and records which brands each one names and which pages it cites. It turns the sites the engines cite into an outreach plan, with a pitch for each site and a status from planned to placed, and it writes the fix for each gap it finds, such as schema, FAQ markup, llms.txt files and articles (home page and developer page, read 24 and 27 September 2026). Google Search Console data comes with every plan, and the buyer questions can be drawn from your own Search Console queries.
Starter costs $39 a month, or $31 billed yearly, for 1 brand and 10 buyer prompts on all seven engines, with daily scans, an outreach plan for cited sites and read-only API and MCP access (pricing page). Pro costs $119 a month, or $95 billed yearly, for 3 brands and 30 buyer prompts, and adds competitor tracking. Max costs $399 a month, or $319 billed yearly, for 10 brands and 90 buyer prompts. The 3-day free trial needs a card and becomes Starter unless cancelled.
Strength: the pages all seven engines cite, checked daily, with the outreach plan and Search Console data on the $39 plan.
Limit: no Microsoft Copilot, Starter covers 10 buyer prompts for one brand, and competitor tracking is listed from Pro.
Pick it if: you want to act on the cited sites, not only see them, and your buyers ask ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Perplexity and Google's AI surfaces.
4. Peec AI (best for answers that name rivals but not you)
Peec AI's source analytics show the domains and URLs AI engines cite, classified by type, next to visibility, position, sentiment and share of voice tracked daily against competitors. Each self-serve plan tracks 3 models you choose, such as ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot and Gemini, and Enterprise, priced by quote and billed annually, tracks up to 13. It also suggests prompts, tags them by topic, persona and region, and recommends actions from a gap analysis (pricing page, read 24 September 2026).
Starter costs $95 a month, or $80 billed annually, for 50 prompts on 3 models in 1 project, and every plan includes unlimited users. Pro costs $245 a month, or $205 billed annually, for 150 prompts, and Advanced costs $495 a month, or $420 billed annually, for 350. An extra model costs $30, $70 or $140 a month on Starter, Pro or Advanced. A free trial is offered, and the pricing page does not state its length.
Strength: cited domains and URLs classified by type, open to the whole team on every plan.
Limit: 3 models per plan, each extra model at a monthly fee, and API access only on Enterprise.
Pick it if: you want the sources behind answers that name your competitors but not you.
5. SE Visible (best for a large prompt set on five engines)
SE Visible is SE Ranking's AI visibility tool. It tracks prompts daily on ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Mode and Google AI Overviews and records brand mentions, sentiment, competitors and the domains and URLs cited. Its AI Sources report shows the domains and URLs cited most, by category such as media, blogs and forums, and SE Ranking says the answers are collected through each platform's own interface rather than its API (home page, read 24 September 2026).
Basic costs $99 a month, or $79 billed annually, for 200 prompts (about 30,000 AI answers analyzed a month), 3 projects and 5 answer engines. Core costs $189 a month, or $151 billed annually, for 450 prompts, and Plus costs $355 a month, or $284 billed annually, for 1,000 prompts, sold through a demo. Users are unlimited, and a 10-day free trial is offered.
Strength: 200 prompts on the entry plan, with the cited sites grouped into media, blogs and forums.
Limit: Claude is listed as coming soon, and country tracking covers the US, UK, Canada, France, Germany, the Netherlands and Spain, in five languages.
Pick it if: you track a wide set of questions on five engines and want a list of publications and forums to pitch.
6. Scrunch (best for mid-size and enterprise brand teams)
Scrunch monitors prompts with their citations, sources, funnel stages and sentiment, tracks competitors, and audits sites for how AI agents read them (pricing page, read 24 September 2026). Its about page says Sitecore acquired it in 2026 and that it runs as a standalone platform. The self-serve Core plan covers ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and Copilot, and Enterprise adds Claude, Gemini, Meta AI, Google AI Mode and Grok.
Core costs $250 a month for 125 unique prompts, 5 site audits a month, 1 brand workspace, 5 users and 5 competitors, after a 7-day free trial that becomes a paid plan unless cancelled. Agency Core costs $500 a month, and Enterprise is priced by quote.
Strength: 125 prompts with their citations and sources on the entry plan, plus audits of how AI agents read your site.
Limit: Core covers four platforms, one country, one language and five competitors, and API and MCP access are Enterprise-only.
Pick it if: several teams in a mid-size or enterprise brand need one view of the citations behind AI answers.
7. AthenaHQ (best for trying it free before paying)
AthenaHQ analyzes prompts and responses with source and competitor insights, then suggests what to change through content recommendations and a content optimization agent. Usage is counted in credits, one credit per AI response. Starter covers 11 AI models: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral (plans page, read 24 September 2026).
Starter costs $295 a month, or $245 billed annually, for 3,600 credits a month, with API access and extra credits as paid add-ons priced on request. The free Essential tier gives $25 of credit (300 credits) on ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Gemini and Copilot, with prompt and response analysis, and the plans page does not say whether that credit renews.
Strength: a free tier to start on, then 11 AI models on one self-serve plan, with content recommendations next to the source insights.
Limit: Starter, at $295 a month, is the only paid self-serve plan, API access costs extra, and tracking in several regions and languages is an Enterprise feature.
Pick it if: you want to start free and later read Grok, DeepSeek and Meta AI alongside the main engines.
8. Profound (best for large brands buying through sales)
Profound's Answer Engine Insights reports brand and competitor visibility, citations, sentiment and ranking in AI answers, and Prompt Volumes estimates what people ask AI assistants. Enterprise tracks up to 9 answer engines: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Microsoft Copilot, DeepSeek, Claude, Google AI Overviews and Exa Search. Its AI Marketer agent researches, writes and reports from that data, running on credits (pricing page, read 24 September 2026).
Brands get a 7-day free trial that runs 50 prompts daily on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, with no history, exports or API, and then an Enterprise plan priced by quote. For agencies, full client workspaces cost $399 a month each.
Strength: the sources AI engines cite across a category, with up to 9 engines, all-time history and CSV and JSON exports on Enterprise.
Limit: no self-serve plan for brands, and the trial uses a prompt set it recommends, which cannot be customized.
Pick it if: you are a large brand that wants tracking and content agents in one platform and can buy through sales.
Which tool fits which job
Start with the engines your buyers use, then decide what you will do with the list of cited sites.
- See the pages seven engines cite every day and plan outreach to them: Cituna, $39 a month.
- Cited domains and URLs classified by type or category: Peec AI from $95 a month, or SE Visible from $99.
- The lowest entry price: Rankscale at $20 a month in credits, or Otterly.AI at $29 a month for 15 search prompts.
- Microsoft Copilot: in the base engine set of Otterly.AI, Scrunch Core and AthenaHQ Starter, among Rankscale's engines, and on Profound's Enterprise plan. Peec AI lets you pick it as one of your 3 models, and Cituna does not track it.
- A wide prompt set: SE Visible with 200 prompts for $99 a month, or Scrunch with 125 for $250.
- A free start: AthenaHQ's free tier, or a trial of 10 days (SE Visible), 7 days (Rankscale Pro, Scrunch Core or Profound) or 3 days with a card (Cituna).
- An enterprise contract with content agents: Profound, by quote.
Once you have the list, the work is getting onto the pages the engines cite. If many of them are "best tools" roundups, how to get your product into "best tools" roundups covers that outreach. To turn this shortlist into a decision, the seven criteria for choosing an AI visibility tool give you a checklist to run before you buy.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a tool that shows which websites AI engines cite?
Yes. Of the ten AI visibility tools we recorded, eight say they report the citations or sources behind AI answers to the prompts you track. Peec AI and SE Visible list the cited domains and URLs, Cituna records the pages seven AI engines cite every day, and Otterly.AI reports website citations with a domain ranking (read 24 and 27 September 2026).
How do I see which sites AI engines cite in my industry?
Track the questions buyers in your industry ask, on the engines they use, and read the tool's citation or source report for those questions. Peec AI tags prompts by topic, persona and region, SE Visible groups the cited sites into media, blogs and forums, and Cituna can draw the questions from your own Search Console queries and turn the cited sites into an outreach plan. Profound suits seeing which sources AI engines cite across a category (read 24 and 27 September 2026).
Can I see which sites AI engines cite when they name a competitor?
Yes. Peec AI suits finding the sources AI answers cite when they name competitors but not you, and Cituna plans outreach to the sites AI engines cite when they name a competitor (read 24 and 27 September 2026). The Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit shows the prompts and topics where rivals are cited and you are not, but it is not ranked here because we could not confirm from its pages that it lists the other cited sites.
Is there a free tool that shows which sites AI engines cite?
AthenaHQ is the only one of the eight with a free plan. Its Essential tier gives $25 of credit (300 credits) on five engines, and the plans page does not say whether that credit renews. The others offer trials: 10 days of SE Visible, 7 days of Rankscale's Pro plan, Scrunch Core or Profound, 3 days of Cituna with a card, and trials of unstated length from Otterly.AI and Peec AI (read 24 and 27 September 2026).